US senators call for lethal aid to Ukraine, increased Russia sanctions, - Ukrainian embassy

The U.S. Senate reaffirms America's non-recognition of Russia’s attempted annexation of Crimea and calls for expansion of sanctions against the Russian Federation.

Censor.NET reports citing a message by the Embassy of Ukraine in the United States.

U.S. Senator and Senate Ukraine Caucus Co-Chair Robert Portman (R-OH) and U.S. Senator and Caucus Vice-Chair Sherrod Brown (D-OH) have introduced a bipartisan resolution condemning illegal Russian aggression in Ukraine on the three year anniversary of the annexation of Crimea.

The resolution is cosponsored by U.S. Sens. John McCain (R-AZ), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Richard Durbin (D-IL), John Cornyn (R-TX), Bob Casey (D-PA), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Chris Coons (D-DE), Pat Toomey (R-PA), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), and Cory Gardner (R-CO).

Read more: US introduced sanctions against eight more Russian companies

"The U.S. Senate reaffirms the commitment of the United States to the Budapest Memorandum on security assurances and reiterates that it is the policy of the United States not to recognize the de jure or de facto sovereignty of the Russian Federation over Crimea, its airspace, or its territorial waters.

"The senators stand for continued support to Ukraine, including increased economic sanctions against Russia, defensive lethal assistance to our state, and democracy and humanitarian assistance, as authorized by relevant legislation passed by the U.S. Congress," the embassy says.

Read more: Russia sanctions to stay in force until Crimea returned to Ukraine, - Department of State

On March 27, 2014, the U.N. General Assembly adopted a resolution calling upon states not to recognize the illegal referendum in Crimea and accession of the peninsula to the Russian Federation. The resolution was supported by delegates from 100 countries, 11 countries voted against (Armenia, Belarus, Bolivia, Cuba, North Korea, Nicaragua, Russia, Sudan, Syria, Venezuela, Zimbabwe), 58 abstained.Источник: https://en.censor.net.ua/n433932