Poroshenko approves sanctions against five Russian banks in Ukraine

President of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko has enacted sanctions against five Russia-owned banks operating in Ukraine.

As reported by Censor.NET, this was announced by the press service of the head of state.

"President Petro Poroshenko has enacted the decision by the National Security and Defense Council of Ukraine dated March 15, 2017 "On applying personal special economic and other restrictive measures (sanctions) against several entities"," the message says.

The sanctions will be effective for a year against the following banks in Ukraine: Sberbank, VS Bank, Prominvestbank, VTB Bank, BM bank and will prevent them from disinvestment outside Ukraine in favor of related persons.

See more: Activists brick up entrance to Sberbank of Russia branch in downtown Kyiv. PHOTOS+VIDEO

The Cabinet and the National Bank of Ukraine should monitor the efficiency of the sanctions and prevent investment of funds with them by state enterprises, institutions, and organizations.

The Foreign Ministry of Ukraine is to inform competent bodies of the EU, U.S. and other states about the implementation of the sanctions and ask them to impose similar restrictions against the same legal entities.

Several days earlier, National Corps party members walled the entrance to Sberbank of Russia office at Volodymyrska Street in downtown Kyiv.
Источник: https://en.censor.net.ua/n432245