Ukrainian Politics

 List of candidates to CEC tabled by Poroshenko may be changed after talks, - MP Burbak

Leader of the People's Front faction Maksym Burbak does not rule out that the list of candidates to the Central Election Commission (CEC) proposed by President of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko may be changed following the negotiations.

"This is the president's right to nominate [candidates], but the list may be changed after the negotiations," Burbak told reporters on the sidelines of the Verkhovna Rada in Kyiv on Tuesday, Censor.NET reports citing Interfax-Ukraine.

He recalled that the People's Front faction had nominated its three candidates in the CEC back in November and they remained unchanged. Current Deputy Chairman of the Central Election Commission Andrii Mahera is among the nominees.

Burbak stressed that the faction was set to insist on Mahera's membership in the new composition of the Central Election Commission.

Read more: Mahera, Okhendovskyi refused to take polygraph test, - Anti-Corruption Prosecutor Kholodnytskyi

At the same time Poroshenko Bloc faction leader Ihor Hryniv noted that the purpose of the negotiations on the CEC composition that were held in the Verkhovna Rada was ensuring the support of at least 226 MPs to the list of nominees proposed by the president.

"The question now is not how to submit [the list] for the Verkhovna Rada consideration, the question is how to ensure its support by 226 votes, and this is a matter of the political talks," Hryniv said.

It is known that 12 out of 15 CEC members have their seven-year tenure expired on June 1, 2014, but they continue performing their duties under the provisions of the amendments to the Law of Ukraine "On the Central Election Commission," which were made in March 2014 in order to ensure the continuity of the electoral process during the presidential election campaign. The active policymaking debate on the appointment of the new members of the CEC has continued since then.

Read more: "I am not a guinea pig," - CEC Deputy Head Mahera explains refusal to take polygraph test

Earlier, the president's bill No. 4789 on dismissal of 12 CEC members due to expiration of their terms of tenure and the bill No.4790 on appointment of 11 CEC members were registered in the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine June 3. According to the bill No. 4790, the president proposed to appoint Alla Basalaieva, Mykhailo Verbenskyi, Roman Hreba, Olha Zheltova, Oleh Konopolskyi, Svitlana Kustova, Olha Lotiuk, Vitalii Plukar, Yevhen Radchenko, Nadiia Synytsia, and Leontii Shypilov members of the Central Election Commission.Источник: https://en.censor.net.ua/n393248