Related materials:

 Rada renamed 175 settlements under decommunization law


Verkhovna Rada has renamed 175 settlements pursuant to the law on the condemnation of the communist and national socialist (Nazi) regimes, and prohibition of propaganda of their symbols.

The draft resolution No. 3854 was supported by 230 deputies at the required minimum of 226 votes, Censor.NET reports citing Ukrainski Novyny.

See more: Monument to Petrovskyi pulled down in Dnipropetrovsk. PHOTOS+VIDEO

The resolution renames one district, five towns, and 169 villages. In particular, Artemivsk (the Donetsk region) is renamed Bakhmut, Dzerzhynsk (the Donetsk region) - Toretsk, and Illichivsk (the Odesa region) - Chornomorsk.

Dnipropetrovsk and Kirovohrad have not been renamed.

The relevant Verkhovna Rada committee plans to consider their renaming on Feb. 15.

Read more: Supreme Administrative Court upholds Communist Party ban, - Ministry of Justice

The decomunization law provides that the parliament should rename all Ukrainian settlements until Feb. 21, taking into account proposals submitted by local administrations and local authorities, as well as on the basis of recommendations of the Ukrainian Institute of National Remembrance.Источник: https://en.censor.net.ua/n372591