Related materials:

 108 cities and villages of Ukraine to be renamed under decommunisation law

Artemivsk is to be named Bakhmut, Kirovohrad - Inhulsk, Dzerzhynsk - Toretsk, Illichivsk - Chornomorsk. Besides, 104 more villages and districts will receive new names. 18 of those are currently called Illich or Lenin after Vladimir Lenin.

This was decided by the parliamentary committee on decentralization, Censor.NET reports.

"Key arguments for the rename decisions were positions of local communities," head of the National Remembrance Institute Volodymyr Viatrovych noted.

There was a total of 121 applications for renaming, 108 of which have been approved. The full list can be found at the Institute's website (in Ukrainian). 13 more villages will be addressed by the Institute with a proposal to return their historical names.

Read more: Artemivsk City Council supported return of city's historical name of Bakhmut - Donetsk Region Governor Zhebrivskyi

In addition, 19 local communities said they wished to keep their Communist names, which is a violation of the law. The committee will again send explanations to local authorities asking to allow their residents to choose a new name for their village or town.

The National Remembrance Institute experts note that most of these 19 communities have long history and thus historical names.

The renaming of villages and cities bearing names of Communist leaders and events is conducted under the so-called decommunisation law of Ukraine banning communist and totalitarian regimes and their symbols in Ukraine.

Read more: Communist Party may be prohibited under the law of decommunisation, - Justice Minister Petrenko
Источник: https://en.censor.net.ua/n366727