President Poroshenko appoints three members of the Supreme Council of Justice under his quota

On April 30, the president signed a Decree on the appointment of Ihor Benedysiuk, Mykola Husak and Tetiana Malashenkova members of the Supreme Council of Justice.

The newly appointed members of the Supreme Council of Justice have taken the oath in presence of the head of state, Censor.NET reports citing the president's press service.

The president stressed that "We can ensure the right to a fair trial due to our common efforts".

"We must significantly increase public confidence in the judicial branch of power. We must give honest judges an opportunity to work. Independent judicial power is the main priority for me when speaking of the European values, the required investment climate, and the protection of human rights," Poroshenko noted.

Read also: Poroshenko appointed new governors of Lviv, Sumy, Poltava, and Rivne regions

The president thanked the commission headed by the leading jurist Volodymyr Vasylenko for holding a transparent contest for the first time in the history of the Court. The head of state emphasized that the commission had made decent choice among 14 candidates allowed to participate in the contest. "The implementation of a new Law on Fair Trial has begun," the president said.

Poroshenko is hopeful that the parliament will not delay the appointment of its candidates to the Supreme Council of Justice, for the SCJ to be able to start its work in May.

The ceremony of taking the oath has been held by the Deputy Head of the Presidential Administration and Coordinator of the Council on Judicial Reform Oleksii Filatov.

Read also: Poroshenko to introduce new NSDC Secretary today

Commenting on the appointment, Filatov noted: "Under the new procedures introduced by the Law of Ukraine "On Ensuring the Right to a Fair Trial", independent contest commission selected and recommended candidates to the president. Within 30 days of contest procedures, any person could examine information about all the candidates and provide comments and suggestions on them. The procedure for appointing members of the Supreme Council of Justice has never been so transparent to the public. The president has appointed the candidates recommended by the Commission".

Ihor Benedysiuk is a judge of the Supreme Economic Court of Ukraine, Mykola Husak is a judge of the Supreme Court of Ukraine, Tetiana Malashenkova is a lawyer.

Источник: https://en.censor.net.ua/n334818