Japanese Government Approved Additional Sanctions against Russia over the Unrest in Ukraine


Japan’s sanctions list on Russia includes 40 individuals and 2 companies.

Prime Minister Shinzo Abe's Cabinet formally approved the decision announced last week by the government as the United States and the European Union stepped up pressure on Russia with widened sanctions, Censor.NET reports, citing ITAR-TASS.

"Assets held in Japan by those directly involved in Russia's annexation of Crimea or the instability in eastern Ukraine will be frozen. Japan will also limit imports of Crimea-made products," the report says.

Read also: U.S. State Department Calls Russia's Military Exercises Near the Ukrainian Border Provocative

The lists of sanctions on Russia, which the Japanese Cabinet approved on Tuesday over the situation in Ukraine, includes 40 individuals and two companies - Chernomorneftegaz and Feodosiya, the Japanese Foreign Ministry told ITAR-TASS.
The ministry has added that he list includes Ukraine's ex-president Viktor Yanukovych, acting head of the Republic of Crimea Sergey Aksyonov, adviser to the Council of Ministers of Crimea Rustam Temirgaliyev, Prosecutor of the Republic of Crimea Natalia Poklonskaya, Defense Minister of the self-proclaimed Donetsk People's Republic (DPR) Igor Strelkov, DPR Prime Minister Alexander Borodai and other people, who, in the view of Tokyo officials, "are involved in Russia's annexation of Crimea or the instability in eastern Ukraine".

Under the sanctions approved on Tuesday, the assets of the listed persons in Japanese banks, if any, will be frozen.

Read also: Germany Cancels Major Arms Deal with Russia

Источник: https://en.censor.net.ua/n296717